RSS Feed

Back to Basics, Back to Sanity

If you haven’t noticed, it’s been a while since I’ve posted.  I know, I’m a bad, bad person!  Things have been crazy here:  trip to NYC for interviews, finishing school, moving logistics, and the list goes on.

Last night, for the first time in a long time, I could finally catch my breath.  I know I’m a true foodie at heart because the first thing I wanted to do with my free time was do some baking!  With all of my spices, fancy gadgets, and premium ingredients packed up or given away, I had little to work with.  I searched high and low for the simplest of cookie recipes.  Here’s what I found: No-Roll Soft Sugar Cookies, courtesy of www.tastykitchen.com.  No cream of tartar, no fancy dairy products, just the basics:  flour, sugar, vanilla, shortening, baking powder.

And let me tell you, they were delicious!  With a paper-thin crust, and lots of cakey softness on the inside, this recipe is already in my recipe box, ready for the next time when there’s a break in my harried schedule.  When the cookies cooled, I topped them off with generous amounts of buttercream frosting from a recipe I found on the back of a Kroger powdered sugar bag:

Buttercream Frosting

Makes enough for three-dozen cookies, two nine-inch cakes, or a nine by 13 cake.

Ingredients:

  •  1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 1/2 cup vegetable shortening
  • 1 lb. confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2/3 Tbsp. milk

Directions:

  • Cream butter or margarine and shortening. Gradually add remaining ingredients and beat at medium-high speed with an electric mixer until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.
  • Store unused part of frosting in the refrigerator for up to 3 weeks.

Chelsea enjoys a cookie as part of a study break

Eating cookies and sharing the baked good love with my equally (if not more) harried roommate, Chelsea, made me smile.  A few cookies and a glass of milk later, I restored sanity to my life after whirlwind of the past few weeks.  It was a divine night in my little apartment, all made possible by the most basic ingredients in a baker’s cupboards.

About onegirlonefork

I'm a freshly-minted college grad eating my way through life. My blog focuses on on all things food in my daily life. As an avid cook, baker, and restaurant goer, I reflect on life through the foodie perspective.

Leave a Reply

